Regions of French wines

Region : French wine

Adverts & Menu

Main categories:
Directory home >
Food & Drink >>

French wine >>>
French white wine
French Rose wine
French wine producer
Provence wine
Famous French wines
'Le Van' wine
Finest French wines
French wine vineyards
French wines : Bordeaux
French information wine
Wine regions


French wine regions

The wine producing regions of France are defined by law and currently there are ten regions:

Côtes du Rhône
Loire Valley
South West

Alsace is located along the German border, in the North-east, and has been occasionally owned by Germany through history hence some of the names (Reisling and Gewurztraminer) are very Germanic for a French region.

Bordeaux is the second largest wine-producing area in the world located in the South-west “quadrant” of France (if you imagine France to be square-shaped).

Burgundy is a thin strip running from the North-east to the South-east and produces two of the most well-known French wines: Beaujolais and Chablis.

Champagne is a circular area in North-east of France, unsurprisingly it is where the majority of Champagne is produced.

Corsica is an island off the south coast of France in the Mediterranean Sea; the vineyards are along the east and West coast of the island.

Côtes du Rhône extends off the thin strip of Burgundy in the South-east quadrant of France and produces a wide range of different wines.

Languedoc-Roussillon is the largest wine-producing area in the world located along the middle of the Mediterranean coast of France.

The Loire Valley runs in a long strip across the middle of the North-west quadrant of France, following the Loire River, naturally.

Provence is located on the Mediterranean coast near the Italian border in the East; it is the location of the first wine-making in France and has the oldest vineyards.

Finally the South West region is located just south of Bordeaux and is often confused with it. It produces many good but less well-known wines.